IWCE 2020 is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Event: August 24 - 27, 2020
Event will take place in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
In Partnership With Sign Up for Updates

Mr. Chris Essid

Regional Supervisor, Office of Emergency Communications
US Department of Homeland Security


Chris Essid currently serves as a Regional Supervisor for the Office of Emergency Communications (OEC) within the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Chris helped establish OEC in 2007, where he served as the first OEC Director and later served as the Deputy Director. He continues to lead efforts to enhance interoperable emergency communications among public safety agencies and across all levels of governments nationwide. Under Chris’s leadership, OEC developed the first National Emergency Communications Plan, ensured all States and Territories developed Statewide Communication Interoperability Plans, positioned the SAFECOM Program to serve as the primary group representing the public safety community for emergency communications, and established the Emergency Communications Preparedness Center. Chris served as the Co-Chair for the Canada United States Communications Interoperability Working Group in support of the Beyond the Border bilateral agreement between the U.S. and Canada. Chris worked to implement a shared approach to increase communications for public safety and government officials along the border.

Prior to joining DHS, Chris served as the Statewide Interoperability Coordinator within the Virginia Governor’s office. He led the effort for Virginia to develop the Nation’s first Statewide Communication Interoperability Plan and established the State Interoperability Executive Committee.

In 2009 Chris was awarded a Special Recognition Award by the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials International for his work in developing communications policy for the public safety community. In 2013 he was awarded the Chairman’s Award from the National Public Safety Telecommunications Council for his work to support first responder communications.